Adorations of Khnum

I struggled a bit with this post. Not that I had doubts about writing it, since I’m very fond of Khnum and wanted Him to have a tribute in the list of adorations that has been growing in the blogosphere. In fact, for several times now I’ve felt tempted to step forward and offer myself as an editor of a Khnum devotional by Neos Alexandria. But I’m not a Kemetic polytheist and am fairly recent to the topic, which often makes me feel a bit out of my league. That’s what I had to struggle with when writing my adorations of Khnum: unfamiliarity with the god’s native tradition and mythology. Henadology’s Theological Encyclopaedia was a valuable resource in overcoming that difficulty and a few searches online gave me a few more ideas. Some of the adorations come from my experience with Khnum: Keeper of Tools, for instance, is a reference to my clay-working tools, which I keep in His shrine; there’s also He Who Hums, since I get the feeling that there’s a humming quality to Him. In the end, I had to shorten the original plan of seventy adorations to fifty two, since I ran out of ideas, to be honest. I could probably add a few more, but wanting to retain a symbolic number I stopped in the combination of five and two (5+2=7).

Adorations of Khnum
I adore you, Khnum
I adore you, Ram-headed One
I adore you, Elder God
I adore you, He of the Watery Abyss
I adore you, He of the Primordial Lake
I adore you, Lord of the Underground Spring
I adore you, He of the Vivifying Flood
I adore you, Bringer of Silt
I adore you, Dweller of the River Margins
I adore you, Shaper of Clay
I adore you, Shaper of Life
I adore you, Fashioner of Bodies
I adore you, Granter of Ba
I adore you, Filler of Wombs
I adore you, Maker of Order
I adore you, Consort of Menhyt
I adore you, Father of Heka
I adore you, Consort of Satis
I adore you, Father of Anukis
I adore you, Renewer of Hapi
I adore you, Divine Potter
I adore you, Guider of Hands
I adore you, Father of Godly Images
I adore you, He of Earthy Hands
I adore you, He of the Potter’s Wheel
I adore you, Boat Builder
I adore you, Divine Handyman
I adore you, Crafter of Crafters
I adore you, Shaper of Shapers
I adore you, Father of Fathers
I adore you, Builder of Builders
I adore you, Lord of Created Things
I adore you, God of Esna
I adore you, God of Elephantine
I adore you, God of the First Cataract
I adore you, Water God
I adore you, Giver of Crops
I adore you, Creator of Riches
I adore you, Preserver of the Body
I adore you, Sustainer of Life
I adore you, Ankh Holder
I adore you, He Who Hums
I adore you, He of Beads on His Lap
I adore you, Keeper of Tools
I adore you, Deep Minded One
I adore you, He of Great Patience
I adore you, Gentle God
I adore you, Great Creator
I adore you, He of Sevens
I adore you, He of Undulating Horns
I adore you, Friend of Rams
I adore you, Beloved Khnum

9 thoughts on “Adorations of Khnum

  1. I love it!
    Khnum is an awesome god. :-) I’m glad you wrote some adorations for him.

    I don’t know if you’ve come across these yet, but “Ancient Egyptian Literature: The late period Volume 3″ – Miriam Lichtheim has some lovely hymns to him. You can see most of them on the GoogleBooks Preview
    :)

  2. Pingback: I am really adoring all of these Adorations posts « The House of Vines

  3. Reblogged this on The Chronicles of Sefek and commented:
    Khnum is part the Abu (Elephantine) Triad, along with Anqet (Anuket/ Anukis) and Satet (Satis). By virtue of being the god of the first cataract, Khnum has associations with Hapi as well. I hope to write more about the Abu (Elephantine) triad in the future. Meanwhile, I’d like promote this lovely devotional to Khnum, written by Helio Pires, a blogger from Portugal. Enjoy!

  4. Pingback: Adorations to Khnum « Ordo Templi Mystici Custodes

Leave a Reply

