It’s on

There are several things about the first of May that make it a good day to start something. In Ancient Rome, is seems have been taken as an auspicious day, in Ireland it was the beginning of the light half of the year and elsewhere in Europe it’s a day marked by the commemoration of the sprouting of the earth and, namely in Scandinavia, the celebration of academic success. And in my personal case, it’s also my birth month, so I’ll say again that there are several things about May that make it a good day to start something new.

This blog is one such thing. After years of mailings lists, forums and internet groups, it was born out of the desire to further interact with a growing polytheistic community that uses mostly English as a communication tool or a native language. So I distanced myself a bit from the Portuguese blogosphere to invest in a polytheistic and Anglophone project, hoping to share and learn with fellow polytheists and contribute for the furthering of online or otherwise communities of worshippers of many Gods and Goddesses.

I don’t want to repeat what I already wrote on the «About» and «Polytheism» sections, so I’ll end with two notes. The first refers to the other so far empty section on the top menu – the «First Rites» – which will host the record of sacrifices made to three deities for the success of this project: Janus, Minerva and Frey. A sort of opening ceremony that will be done somewhere in the next few days. The second note is that I just got home from a four months stay in Galicia – this text was partially written on the train from Santiago to Vigo – and I’ll be moving to Lisbon in a few weeks. It might take some time before there’s any regular posting.

This said, frith to anyone who happens to stumble upon this blog!

4 thoughts on “It’s on

  1. I’m so glad you started a blog, Helio. You’ve laid a good foundation and I’m looking forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

