Dominus Ingui: 63 adorations

For a few months now, there’s been a stream of adorations in the polytheistic blogosphere. After the initial 99 Adorations to Dionysus at the House of Vines, many others have taken the idea and produced posts of up to 150 adorations to one or more deities. Sannion is keeping an updated list and Maris has already posted her version dedicated to Ingvi-Frey here.

Since I’m writing a series on a Latinized cult of Ingui, I thought I should take the opportunity and make a set, honouring the god and, at the same time, supplying modern polytheists with material they can use in their prayers and ceremonies. Some are entirely born out of my own UPG: Rainbowed One, for instance, comes from the modern perception that Freyr is a gay friendly god and, being a Vanir, is much more open to an “alternative” sexuality. It’s similar to the Jingle God, in reference to the description of effeminate priests with bells. Besides, add sun to a bit of rain, two things Snorri associates with Frey, and you get a rainbow. So without further ado, I give you the 63 adorations of Lord Ingui:

I adore you, Lord Ingui
I adore you, Son of Njord
I adore you, Son of Nerthus
I adore you, Brother of Freya
I adore you, Husband of Gerda
I adore you, Lord of Elves
I adore you, Captain of Skidbladnir
I adore you, Master of Gullinbursti
I adore you, Divine Ancestor
I adore you, God of the Mound
I adore you, Sacred Lord
I adore you, Hazel Warden
I adore you, Peace Maker
I adore you, Peace Keeper
I adore you, Divine Protector
I adore you, People’s Ruler
I adore you, Sacred King
I adore you, God of the Wagon
I adore you, Lord of the Field
I adore you, God of the Plough
I adore you, Divine Seed
I adore you, Fertile One
I adore you, Phallic God
I adore you, Granter of Soft Rain
I adore you, Warm Lord
I adore you, Grain Spirit
I adore you, God of Sacrifice
I adore you, Loaf Giver
I adore you, Pantry Filler
I adore you, Pine Born
I adore you, Midwinter Child
I adore you, Midsummer King
I adore you, Giver of Wealth
I adore you, God of the World
I adore you, Green Lord
I adore you, Sacred Stallion
I adore you, Granter of Pleasure
I adore you, Vigorous One
I adore you, Life Giver
I adore you, Life Renewer
I adore you, Life Keeper
I adore you, Golden God
I adore you, Bright One
I adore you, Friend of Humans
I adore you, Friend of Herds
I adora you, Beautiful One
I adore you, Granter of Bounty
I adore you, Breaker of Shackles
I adore you, Liberator
I adore you, Jingle God
I adore you, Rainbowed One
I adore you, God of the Pole
I adore you, Swordless One
I adore you, Antler Warrior
I adore you, Battle Boar
I adore you, Beli’s Bane
I adore you, Master of Beyla
I adore you, Master of Byggvir
I adore you, Offspring of the Sea
I adore you, Offspring of the Earth
I adore you, Glorious One
I adore you, Sweet Friend
I adore you, Lord Ingui

This pretty much concludes this series. The final piece will be a drawing of the god, much like the revealing of a sacred image after the presentation of the deity. In the meantime, I’m planning more adorations to other gods, namely Silvanus, Mercury, and Khnum.

One thought on “Dominus Ingui: 63 adorations

  1. Pingback: I am really adoring all of these Adorations posts « The House of Vines

Leave a Reply

