Io Saturnalia!

Saturnalia

The rain prevented me from performing a ceremony outside, where I would have lit a fire on the ground, as appropriate for a chthonic deity. So instead I had to do it inside my house and sprinkled dirt over the flames before making my prayers and offerings to Janus. I gave incense, locally produced beverage, and grain to Father Saturn and then unveiled and decorated His image, which will remain at the centre of the dinning table for the next seven days.

A Merry Saturnalia to all!

4 thoughts on “Io Saturnalia!

Leave a Reply

